Your recent out-of-state travels turned into travails after a drunk driving arrest. Admittedly, it is an embarrassment, especially since you were on vacation. You return to New York, expecting to swiftly resolve the situation. And after several court dealings, you eventually are convicted of DWI in a neighboring state.
Deep down, you hope to sweep the incident under the rug. That is not possible. Why? There are several, but mainly because the troubles follow you home. For example, in New York, a person convicted of drunk driving outside his or her home state faces parallel consequences related to that out-of-state arrest.
Conviction follows from other states, Ontario, Quebec
A drunk driving conviction follows you around, crossing state lines and even international borders. Since many law enforcement agencies around the country share data bases, authorities in the state of New York can easily discover your arrest and conviction.
After you receive an out-of-state drunk driving conviction, you face certain penalties right here in New York. Here are the penalties that await certain drivers:
- Revocation of your driver’s license for at least 90 days: This will happen to you if you are an adult aged 21 years and older and have an alcohol- or drug-related driving conviction from other states and the Canadian provinces of Ontario and Quebec.
- Revocation of your driver’s license for at least one year: This penalty applies to drivers under the age of 21 convicted of DWI in other states as well as the Canadian provinces of Ontario and Quebec. Also, people within this age group who have any alcohol-related conviction on their record will have their driver’s licenses revoked for a minimum of one year or until they turn 21, whichever is the longest.
Do not expect to leave an out-of-state drunk driving conviction in your rearview mirror. You will have to face the consequences, so be prepared.